Rust Remover

It’s been a long time since I’ve had a serious interest in art.

Art as in – drawing, painting, and most visual arts.

However, lately my love for the scratch of a pencil on drawing paper is rekindling.

There is only one problem with that.

All my years of learning and practice have gotten a fine patina of rust from lack of use.

So to the de-rusting (I don’t think that’s a word) we go.

 

I was—in my teens and early twenties—predominantly a graphite and acrylic artist. Those are the mediums I know well.

But what sparked my current interest is Lisa of Lachri fine art and her color pencil drawings.
(I always have to remind myself to say color pencils because we call them pencil crayons.)

This reawakening of interest has been a slow process so I’ve started collecting new tools for my trade.

Color pencils, acrylics, airbrushing supplies and lately (listen carefully and you’ll hear a choir of angels) copic markers.

I also got some sketch books. And in this post I’ll show you the results of starting to sand off all that rust.

This was my first drawing in my Canson XL Mix Media (the link is to the place I bought it, no I’m not affiliated with them.

PinkTrebel-Clean.jpg

This was done using a mixture color pencils and copic marker.

 

My next sketchbook is a moleskine so I wanted to do something with the solid black cover. I found (a long time ago) an image of a werewolf I loved. So I contacted the artist on dA and asked his permission to recreate the werewolf on my sketchbook cover.

This was done using acrylic paint.

sketchbook cover

The original piece was line art by TheHand on dA.

So it looks like the rust is coming off, but its a long process. Its taking me ten times as long to get anything done. Hopefully that will improve with time. (haha)

2 thoughts on “Rust Remover

  1. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with some pics to drive the message home a bit, but other than that, this is great blog. A fantastic read. I will definitely be back.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

