That Awkward Feeling When…

Hi Everyone,

 

Lately I’ve been very much into fine arts again. When I say lately you have to understand, as a child my first love was reading, my second was art.

But for many years I focused more on other crafts and projects, but now I find myself starting to collect supplies and wanting to draw and paint.

 

 

For the past few years I’ve slowly collected everything I need to do airbrushing and although I’ve tried a few color backgrounds I haven’t actually done anything that could be called “painting” with the airbrush.

My new project which is an underwater scene with a dolphin needed me to create a new background.

One of the last things I got was my duel action airbrush and a 50L air compressor.

It’s not one of those little cute art ones, because they are seriously overpriced, but rather the type of compressor that you’d find in a workshop. A work horse– something that costs half what an art compressor will cost (just because its targeted at artists) and last five times as long. That means its LOUD.

 

I have admit, I’m a chicken when it comes to anything “under pressure” I won’t even use the pressure cooker, (they scare me) and when my compressor switches on and off it scares the living crap out of me.

One time during today’s painting session I was filling my airbrush with paint as it switched on…

My face is covered in blue paint. *raises an eyebrow* Yes I’m jumpy with the thing.

My tattered nerves aside, it really works well.

 

But now we get to that awkward feeling. Yes. That awkward feeling when you are trying to work in a new medium and you realize you SUCK at it!

Its times like these when having learned patience comes in handy.

Because I know I suck at airbrushing

But I also know I won’t continue to suck at airbrushing. As I practice using the medium I will get better. I know I can’t get worse.

These are the first layers of the painting

airbrush dolphin

(ps: The Dolphin and bottom part are covered in frisket so it will be solid white once I peel the frisket off. )

And though I was originally going to do the dolphin and the coral in pencil colors I think I’m going to try and airbrush them as well. (the more I practice…)

I’m okay with making mistakes, I’ll learn from them and I’m determined to learn how to do this.

But tonight I plan on attacking my youtube app on my tablet and finding videos on.

-how to unclog your airbrush

-how to clean your airbrush

-Airbrushing 101.

 

Wish me luck!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

