Polymer Clay Color Recipe Box

Boy that’s a long title…

 

Hello, Lovely Crafties,

Its another Sunday and what a beautiful day it is.

Okay, so I don’t really know what kind of day it is. Because its Monday and two weeks before this post is going up, but we can pretend, right?

Today I’m going to be showing you a storage solution/idea for all those polymer clay color recipes we collect.

I’ve seen people use folders and notebooks and every other thing I can think of to save the recipes.

There are some brilliant ideas out there.

But I had an idea that would both be a space saver in storage, and an easy to flip through catalog of color recipes.

(No, that’s not a spelling mistake, that’s how we spell color here.)

20160613_135344

Index Cards:

I know… They went out the window before VHS tapes did, but lets haul out and dust off this wonderful filing system because its perfect for a few different catalog needs.

As you can see this is a simple plastic “Bantex” index card holder. I put some vinyl lettering on it and used some Washi tape for colored accents.


20160613_135741

I made some dividers by laminating black card stock, cutting it down to size then using scrap-booking paper to make the tabs.

I made the labels using the print and cut feature on my cameo.

I made main dividers to keep brands separate then I subdivided by color groups.

Premo:

  • Black / White
  • Skin Tones
  • Browns
  • Pinks
  • Reds
  • Yellows
  • Oranges
  • Greens
  • Blues
  • Purples (which is my indigo and violet)

Then Fimo and so on  until I had dividers for all my brands of clay.


20160613_135836

For the actual recipe cards I used bright index cards and printed and cut out labels on my cameo (again) The little color chip goes on the top right hand corner of the card.

I thought I was rather clever, but then I’m an organizing junkie.

Happy Crafting,

Genevieve

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

