Tealight Stove

Hello Crafties,

I’m so sorry for my long absence but I’ve been on a deadline with my novel. I’m happy to say I wrote my two favorite words today… THE END.

So, I wanted to share an idea I’ve had, with you.

As most of you know I’m very into polymer clay. I will post a few of my creations here so you can see what I’ve been learning to do. Learning being the word of the day here, I’m by no means good yet, but I’m having fun with the process of getting there.

20151021_085524 20151021_163604

20151021_163610This is my version of a fairy tutorial I followed by Sandrartes even the wings were done following her tuts, she’s one of my favorite polymer clay artists on Youtube.

20151006_145800

This little mushroom house I did out my head and I loved doing it. (My mom has since stolen it out my collection haha)

When I decided I wanted to learn polymer clay I bought myself a little stove/oven

20150630_122728

And it works beautifully, but I’m always aware of wasting electricity and since its a plug in oven I feel guilty when I want to prebake a piece for a few minutes so that its easier to work with.

I think I have found a solution for my problem and I have Tanya from SugarCharmShop to thank.

She uses a Efcolor low temp enameling stove to prebake her pieces, and whats really wonderful about this little stove is that it is heated by three tealight candles.

XOEM05

needless to say

I WANT ONE!!!!

Ah, but we have a problem, Genevieve. You live in South Africa and this stove is only really available in the UK, and to import it is going to cost pounds you don’t have.

Well…. dang….

Along comes Necessity, the mother of invention and I let my creative brain start working.

I looked up and researched this stove, found as many pictures of it as I could and I think I might have found a way to build my own tealight stove.

Here is what I’m going to use/do:

In South Africa we have a decor item, its covers for our stove plates, and you buy them in packs of four. Two bigger ones and two smaller ones. They usually have enameling and images of Cows or some other cute cartoony kitchen creature on them.

I was lucky enough to find a set of play “steel” colored ones at the local Crazy Store.

20151109_134303

Looks a lot like the efcolor stove plates doesn’t it. In fact to my eye it looks exactly the same right down to the rims.

I bought three small tins of tomoto paste for making spagettii for dinner and what do you know? We have the tins to put the candels in.

20151109_134323

I’ve got the struts from an old desk draw that I will bend into a long U shape for the struts holding up one part from the other

20151109_134312

and for the lid?

Another tin I bought from the Crazy store, it fits on the rim perfectly and has a pretty pink trim to boot. And a set of nifty handles that will help too.

20151109_134353

20151109_134348

I’m going to use silver solder (because its high temp resistant) to solder everything where it needs to be and then, if my theory is correct this should work exactly like the tealight stove.

The only little niggle I have is if the “dome” lid might be too big and therefore not gain as much temperature as it should and even that is not a bad thing since the stove gets way hotter than the 130c I need for my clay to bake. So if it doesn’t keep heat as well it should still be good. But I will test it with my oven thermometer just to get an idea how high the heat does go.

I will keep you all updated, Crafties, and let you know how this works. Because if it does work and you don’t have a way of getting a tealight stove — like me, this might be a good alternative

5 thoughts on “Tealight Stove

  1. I also wanted sugarcharmshops oven too but I’m a beginner and its too expensive for now, maybe in the future I will. So I also created my own, but I used small sized aluminum foil baking pans, cut 2 squares for the bottom one and placed 2 of them to form a box on top, and used 2 tea lights 😀 Works great!!!

    Like

    • Clever idea!!! A small oven like that will come in so helpful, especially for prebaking. If you take a pic just email it to me. I’d love to see it. 😀 genevieve.c.potgieter(at)gmail.com

      Like

  2. oh and one more thing, you have to make sure that there is air around the candles, make sure they are not completely covered by the pans etc, or else they will go out.

    Like

  3. I love this and I did manage to find an Efcolor stove. I’m trying to make boots for some small dolls. I can’t figure out how long to bake them though. I left the last pair in the stove for 10 minutes and they scorched on the bottom 😦 The fimo, once it cooled, was easy to bend and pretty much just fell apart. Help?

    Like

    • I ended up finding a efcolor stove too because the one I made didn’t heat up properly and I thought it was because it was a DIY, but no, its the stove and the way it works. And yes, I had the same issues that you had with the efcolour stove I bought. I got a deeper metal dish for a lid because the other is too shallow, and I put my charm on one of the little metal stands they send with it. That stopped the scorching.
      I also learned that you have to have 2 FULL candles to get the right heat. They can’t be used even a little. And you have to bake way longer. Even then… my charms tended to crumble after a bit. So in my opinion the little stove isn’t worth the effort. I’d rather just bake in the oven and know my hard work isn’t going to be for nothing.
      I’m sorry I couldn’t really help. Good luck with your doll boots.

      Like

Leave a Reply

