Putting the Scrap in Scrapping

Hello, fellow crafters, its Sunday and time for another “Genevieve’s Craft Room” post.

I’ve been crafting in one form or another my whole life long, and my list of crafts is long, but I’m relatively new to  paper craft (if you don’t count my time studying art) and I’ve developed an obsession with it.

It appeals to a few things that make my little heart pump chocolate.

  • There are soooo (forgive the elongated vowel) many things to collect and I love colleting things. Craft things at the top of my list.
  • I can organize everything and store it just so, and that is another thing I love.
  • It appeals to the kid in me who loved art as much as I loved reading. I get to express my artistic abilities. Something I’ve not done for a long time.

A few of the things that I really seemed to be attracted to are, stamping, punches, coloring, and all the little bits and pieces that comes with that.

The most I do layout-wise is stuff for my life planner.

Trust me, writing novels and keeping up with my busy family then still finding time for my crafts means I have to have a life planner.

I’m rambling; (an occupational hazard) so let me get to the point.

One of the first things I learned with paper craft is (and I’m putting this in capitals)

DON’T THROW ANYTHING AWAY!

Every package you get your dies in, you can cut out the usable acetate and save it. Every little bottle of embossing powder you empty into your dispenser can be used for embellishment storage and so on.


However, the trick I like most has to do with release paper.

I buy these rolls of stickers for my life planner.  They come in handy when I need to have something eye-catching as a reminder.

This is what the stickers and release paper looks like:001

And as you peel off the sticker you are left with a lot of release paper. Don’t toss it.

I’m going to show you one quick trick for using it.

003

I also buy these post-it rolls. (again for the bright colors) But I get bored with the same round or rectangular shapes so this is what I do.

I stick a piece of post-it tape onto the release paper:

004

Then use a small-ish punch to punch out a shape (In this case my dragonfly)

 005

And there you have it, a cute shape to stick onto a page or layout or just as a reminder to do something. You can even use the negative space for a cute little add on.

006

You can punch without the release paper, but the glue is going to adhere to your punch and it’s not going to punch right or its going to make your punch tacky in the end.

This is only one thing you can use release paper for, there are many more tricks with it, but it illustrates well why I say not to throw anything away.

So keep everything. I have a container that I toss every scrap piece of whatever into. Even cardstock cut offs. You never know when you are going to need just a small piece of a specific color and why cut into a whole sheet if you have scraps.

I guess that’s why they call it scrapping.

Please feel free to leave me a comment or a question.

I’d love to hear from you.

Happy Crafting

Genevieve

genevievescraftroom@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

